Failure as a Learning Lesson

A couple of shoots I did this week didnt go too well. Even though the client liked the photos at first, they later hit me back up telling me they werent pleased with the product they recieved for the price they paid.

Now I had the option of being angry and simply saying they paid for the product and therefore I cant afford to do it again. However in business your reputation is priceless, guard it with your life. I saw this as an opportunity to step my game up.

So I decided to redo the shoot completely and change the technique up.

Alot of people try to avoid failure. If they make mistakes, they begin to see themselves as failures, when most human beings develop by making mistakes. This was and is my biggest issue with the education system of today, growing up we were taught to fear mistakes and failure, when mistakes is how human beings learn!

Now I see failure as a learning lesson, and an opportunity to reevaluate myself.

I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.
– Michael Jordan

Our greatest failures, can lead to our greatest successes. Lady Gaga was dropped by 6 different record labels before she was signed by Akon. When asked what he saw in her, he simply replied:
“I saw in her what everyone else didn’t.”

When he started out, Walt Disney was fired from a local newspaper and was told that he lacked original ideas.

Michael Jordan was cut from his highschool basketball team. Later on he spoke of that being the motivation for him to improve.

Abraham Lincoln lost his mother at age 9, his fiance died, his businesses failed twice, he had a nervous breakdown and he was defeated in 8 elections before he finally became president.

Life equals Risk. If you’ve never failed then you’ve never lived. As the quote above says: most people dont fail, they simply stop trying. Every time you doubt yourself, or shy away from taking a chance the only person who loses is you.

To quote Wayne Gretsky: You miss one hundred percent of the shots you never take.
Its time to take that shot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

